Looking to Create Wallpapers with Blender

Hello everyone, I’m new to the site, this is my first post.

A friend showed me the wallpapers here, and I was immediately surprised at the number of downloads compared to the number of contributors. I thought I would try my hand at making a wallpaper myself.
I’ve been using Blender for about six months now, and have learned a lot, so I looked around for some wallpaper tutorials.

The only tutorial on the site is geared toward Cinema 4D, and only one mention is made of Blender.
So I was wondering if any of you out there who knew how to do these wallpapers could give me a hand with all these images.

Since we all use different programs, I’ll try to leave program-specific details aside, just correct me if I’m wrong about any of these details.

There are ten images I have to render.

background0000.png Rendered with antialiasing enabled and matted players. I figured out how to enable antialiasing, but what exactly does matted players mean?

background0001.png Same as the last one, but no matted material?

layer_object_1_0001.png Player mask. I’m actually not familiar with masks, I’ve never used them before. I’ll probably find some tutorials on this, but what kind of mask will I be creating?

layer_matcolor0001.png Player UV. This was the one photo outlined in the tutorial, already know how to do this.

layer_illum0001.png Player illumination. I’m not entirely sure what the description on this one is referring to. This is also marked optional. What exactly does it do?

layer_ao0001.png Player ambient Occlusion. Already figured this one out and know what it does. My only question is, why is it optional?

layer_object_1_00002.png Hat Mask. Same questions as last mask render.

layer_matcolor00002.png Hat UV mask. This at first had me slightly confused. I’m assuming I’ll have to do separate renders for the Hat UV and the Player UV?

layer_illum0002.png Hat illumination. Same questions as last illumination render.